• April is National Poetry Month!

    Prose writers can click here to find one way to honor their poetry fellows. See what Pacific Northwest poets are doing in April here.
  • I’m a writer, too!

    On 12.01.09, I estimated that I had about 32,000 words left to write to complete my first draft of the opening book in my paranormal mystery series, THE LOST & FOUND.

    Here's my progress updated 2.12.10:

    33% of 32,000 (10,648 wds)
  • INTRODUCING… Writer’s Rainbow Gift Certificates! The perfect gift for the writer in your life!

  • PAC NW LITERATI

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

Upcoming live classes: Blogging 101 and Blogging 102 for Writers

 Check out my upcoming live blogging workshops for the spring session at BIMPRD. Sign-ups begin this Thursday, March 25! Don’t delay–these classes can fill quickly. Join the ranks of local writers who are giving the blog form the ol’ college try…

Blogging 101 for Writers” [223310-01] meets live on Sat April 17 from 10am-3pm at the Strawberry Hill Meeting Room via the Bainbridge Island Metro Parks & Recreation District. The class is $40. Call 206.842.2306 to get registered or log in at www.biparks.org, click on to Online Registration and enter the WebTrac portal.

This is a beginner’s class in that we will each build a free, brand new blog from scratch in Blogger. If you already have a blog, but need some guidance with its architecture, development and maintenance, this is also a good basics course. I have chosen Blogger because it is a very simple interface and is a great training ground for the beginning blogger. You can start out with a free blog and upgrade as you go. Though we will focus on the Blogger platform, I am also familiar with WordPress, TypePad and LiveJournal.

Besides helping you all set up a basic blog (which I recommend all bloggers use as their experimental “sandbox” until they become proficient), we will also discuss content development, building traffic, blog maintenance, and potential problems that all bloggers can face. I’ll sneak in a little history about blogging as well, for perspective.

Blogging 102 for Writers” [223311-01] meets live on Sun May 16 and Sun May 23 (two sessions total) from 1-330pm at the Strawberry Hill Art Room via the Bainbridge Island Metro Parks & Recreation District. The class is $40. Call 206.842.2306 to get registered or log in at www.biparks.org, click on to Online Registration and enter the WebTrac portal.

This is an extension of the beginner’s class that helps those writers who have already established a blog online but need to do something more actively with it. We’ll talk about best practices, nontechnical improvements for blog design, maintenance and upkeep, SEO (search engine optimization), content and frequency reviews and finding your “niche.”

Please know that I am not a web developer or a graphic designer. I’m a nontechnical person and a writer; I learned how to blog like any other ordinary person, by experimenting and doing the work outside a classroom. Therefore, I’m quite patient with students who are nervous about their technical skills; I was one of you, once, and I know what a humbling experience that can be. My workshop was created to simplify what can be a tricky and nonintuitive process for others who are not technical, so please take comfort in knowing that you’ll be explore blogging safely and without judgment in my workshop.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

