• April is National Poetry Month!

    Prose writers can click here to find one way to honor their poetry fellows. See what Pacific Northwest poets are doing in April here.
  • I’m a writer, too!

    On 12.01.09, I estimated that I had about 32,000 words left to write to complete my first draft of the opening book in my paranormal mystery series, THE LOST & FOUND.

    Here's my progress updated 2.12.10:

    33% of 32,000 (10,648 wds)
  • INTRODUCING… Writer’s Rainbow Gift Certificates! The perfect gift for the writer in your life!

  • PAC NW LITERATI

  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

When one thing leads to another (using nautical metaphors for no good reason)

On Wednesday morning, I had the pleasure of landing a freelance writing gig based on an email I sent to a web magazine publisher less than two weeks ago, in which I made suggestions for a new section for their monthly.

2009 has been choppy seas, and yet, opportunities are still out there for those willing to dive in.

Remember, things happen only if you take action. If you want freelance work, you need to be mixing it up with queries, inquiries, formal pitches, and other networking efforts. These things don’t happen in a vacuum while you’re updating your Facebook page, after all.

It really is as simple as having an idea, giving it shape, and offering it to someone who you think would respect it. Through a sea of rejections there’s still bound to be a “yes” flag floating from a buoy.

I say, ahoy! Float your ideas, see what comes back in the tide.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

